Q: What's with the new name?
A: Take 5 is under new ownership as of May 2016, the new owner wanted a name that better represented her, and felt "more Alaskan." Boreal owls were the inspiration for the new name; adult Boreal owls are only 8-10 inches tall, hence "Little Owl."
Q: Do you still do gluten-free baked goods?
A: YES! Everything we make in-house is gluten-free. In fact, the only things we have that are not GF are the ciabatta rolls, tortillas, and English muffins we buy for sandwiches and wraps. We took the "gluten-free" sign off of the pastry case because there's a certain stigma that gluten-free isn't as tasty as glutenous pastry. We think our pastries are so good that you'd never know that they are actually gluten-free.
*We now have gluten-free teff & millet wraps, and lettuce wraps are always an option*
Q: What is gluten anyway?
A: Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and other related grains. People with celiac's disease or other gluten-sensitivities can have severe gastro-intestinal and other reactions to ingesting gluten. We take extreme care to avoid cross contamination in our kitchen.
We do not bake anything with glutenous flour. Our go-to GF blend is made up of Sweet White Rice Flour, Whole Grain Brown Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Whole Grain Sweet White Sorghum Flour, Tapioca Flour, Xanthan Gum. We do our best not to use products with soy or corn because we know these are common allergens. The egg replacer we use in our vegan items is made of: Potato Starch, Tapioca Flour, Leavening (Calcium Lactate, Calcium Carbonate, Citric Acid), Cellulose Gum, Modified Cellulose. Calcium Lactate Is Not Dairy Derived. Unfortunately we have not been able to completely eliminate soy, as soy lecithin is a very common food additive. If you have a severe soy allergy we recommend eating elsewhere.
Q: Do you do special-orders?